Cover design: Lolita

Hello! You may be pleased to hear (or may not be), that I haven’t completely abandoned my new blog, but I do have finals starting in two days, so writing book reviews hasn’t exactly been top priority 🙁

For the time being I’ve got another book cover design – I got really enthusiastic and made a few a couple of weeks ago, but didn’t want everyone to get sick of them if I posted them all in quick succession.

Anyway, this one is for the modern classic Lolita, by Vladimir Nabokov, which as most probably know, is about a middle aged man who falls in love and fantasises over a teenager (called Lolita).

Lolita

I chose the childish underwear to emphasise Lolita’s young age, but also show her sexualisation by the author. The black tiles and the printed letters look a bit like a blackboard too, again pointing to her youth.

I know my past few posts have all been cover designs, but I’m planning to do more texty posts after exams finish. This blog is supposed to be about entire books, not just the covers!

XoxoxxX

Leave a Reply

